What shredding four bags of paper taught me…

what shredding taught me

Happy New Year!!
So a few months back I made the decision to take a break for some things and focus on me. When I say me, I mean ME, my marriage, and my home. At the end of August I found myself tired, overwhelmed, empty, and just down right not feeling too much of anything.
I was just going through the motions. It was as if I looked back on all of the exciting things I had experienced and I had not really ‘experienced‘ them. I was merely operating on autopilot. Yep, even I have moments when life gets so busy that you find yourself at a point where what you once enjoyed, you don’t at that particular time.
So at any rate, I’ve been purging in my home. Getting rid of clothes, shoes, purses, and TONS OF PAPER. I feel like my life was composed of papers everywhere. My office had become a space I avoided because there were papers everywhere. I tend to be a paper hoarder. In the age of technology, I still print out everything. If I like something, I bookmark the link, but I also print the page out just in case the link is deleted.
I’ve been shredding some things for a while, but these last few days I just made the decision to get rid of any and everything that I no longer needed. Anything that I felt no longer served a purpose. Well after shredding four plus bags of paper, I’ve learned that REAL transformation takes time. Now don’t get me wrong. This isn’t something I didn’t know but for some reason, there are things that don’t seem to be as important as others and we just let them go by the wayside. This was one of those areas for me.

After all it’s just paper right?

Well after all of the paper, I shredded, I still have more paper to get rid of. I’m not done yet but I got started. I’m not done yet but I see and feel the difference in the space I call my office. I’m not done yet but I’m little further than I was before I started. You get the point.

Maybe there’s something you need to address and deal with but you’ve been avoiding it simply because the mere thought of it overwhelms you. Well I’m here to tell you it doesn’t go away just because you act like it’s not there. It’s still there and at some point you need to deal with it.
Maybe you need to do like last week’s post suggested and just start today. Just start. Don’t think about it because of course that’s what got you here. Thinking and overthinking and overthinking… Enough with the thinking about thinking (which isn’t always a bad thing) and do something TODAY.
Remember that transformation takes time. It’s not an overnight process. You can’t put it in the microwave like popcorn, press the popcorn button and voila, it’s ready. No it will take time, patience, perseverance, and commitment. Don’t rush the process. Just take it one day at a time.
After reading this week’s post, take some time today and do something. Whatever you’re avoiding, whatever you’ve been saying you need to start doing, whatever you’ve said, “one of these days, I’ll get around to it,” I challenge you to do something about it today.
Whether it’s…
  • Shredding the paper
  • Having that difficult conversation
  • Making the phone call
  • Paying that bill
  • Going to the gym
  • Registering for that class
  • Investing in business/life coaching
  • Saying no to them so you can say yes to you
  • Walking away from that relationship

… I challenge you to do it!

P.S. Once you get started, let me know what you’ve decided to do…

Until next time…

Remember to live purposefully,

Hugs + Love + Prayers

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What shredding four bags of paper taught me…

  1. Dr Celeste says:

    Clutter is everywhere. I should know. LOL. Over the weekend I decluttered my office completely. Today I did the same for my daughter’s room and our hall closet. I don’t know about you but there is an urgency in my spirit to get this done so that the new can flow in. Whatever those things may be I want to be — I will be ready! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

