Start Today!

Start Today! (1)

Can you believe it?

Christmas 2015 came and gone and 2016 is right around the corner. I pray your Christmas was filled with lots of love.  We had a pretty low key day with family.

Ok so , we are just four days from closing out 2015 and I know many of you have decided to wait until 2016 to kick off your new goals, dreams, aspirations and resolutions (do people still make resolutions?).  Well as I was thinking over the weekend about what I wanted to be different for me in 2016, I realized that while waiting until the new year makes sense, it doesn’t have to apply to me.

Let me fill you in…

Maybe you want to wait until the new year to get your life together. Maybe it’s going to church more often. Maybe it’s exercising more or drinking more water. Maybe it’s spending more time with family and loved ones. Maybe it’s doing a better job of saving money. Maybe it’s investing in your business.

Well whatever it is, you know that just because most people wait until the new year to start doesn’t mean you have to. You see, waiting until the new year, doesn’t really guarantee your success.  It just means you waited four days to start in the new year what you could have started today.  Now you might be wondering what I mean by that.

Well if you own a business or know anything about businesses.  Most businesses starting planning for the following year around September, October. Heck, many have completed their 2016 plan by September/October and by the time January 1 starts, their 2016 business plan is already done and they are ready to launch their plan.

So how does this apply to you?

Well I want you to take these next few days to get started. That’s right start today. Figure out what you want to be different in 2016 and start putting in the work to make it happen today. If you need to open the account for the new savings, then do it today.  If you want to start drinking more water, go buy the water today. If you want to go back to school, start filling out the application today.

You get the point!

You see, we like to use the excuse that since there are only a few more days left in the year, we will just wait until next year to get started when there are other underlying reasons why we haven’t started.  I won’t get into those right now, but what I will say is stop making excuses about why you can’t start today.  Get rid of what ‘society’ says you can do and when ‘they’ say you have to do it.  Create a ‘new normal’ in your life.  Create new standards and even new boundaries.

In preparation for 2016, I did my normal research of numbers and found that 16 represents LOVE.  Yes … LOVE.  I’ve been pondering and chewing on this for some time and there were many things that came to mind for me, which I will share with you.

This year will be a year of love in every area of your life.  Loving more of you.  Loving more of your family.  Loving more of God.  Loving more of your life.  You see we spend so much time loving others that we miss the chance to love on ourselves.  We also spend so much time admiring other people’s lives that we miss the chance to really fall in love with our own lives.  This year will be the year that, if you should desire it, you will experience a love like never before.  The reason I say should you desire it, is because this will be something that will only manifest in your desires and expectation.  You have to want it.  If you don’t want to experience the fullness of love in all areas of your life, you won’t.

As we transition from 2015 to 2016, my prayer for you is that you would start today.  You see, I was going to wait until the new year to do a detox and I said, “what the heck, why wait until Jan 1 when I can start today and I did.”  I went to the store, bought my detox tea and had my first cup this evening.

No more waiting and contemplating. 

Start today!

I will be popping into your inbox periodically this week to share a few other end of the year thoughts!

Remember to Live Purposefully

Hugs + Love + Prayers,

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Start Today!

  1. […] you need to deal with it. Maybe you need to do like last week’s post suggested and just start today. Just start. Don’t think about it because of course that’s what got you here. Thinking […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

