Are you willing to work for it?

Are you willing to work for it-

I know that marriage is majorly under attack. I wonder if we put as much time into doing WHATEVER it took to make it work, and focusing more on how WE can make it better as opposed to what THEY aren’t dong or what THEY can do, would marriages be in a different place? I wonder if Divorce was removed from being an option, would people work a little harder to make it work.

Now don’t get me wrong, some folks know good and well they had no business getting married. I know that times get hard, money gets funny, folks change, but at the end of the day are we really committed to the vows and covenant we took.

I think people need grace, forgiveness and love, but I also think people think transparency, safety, honest, commitment, fidelity, intimacy and communication. We need prayer…. LOTS of prayer. Not sure if you’ve tried it, but it works. Sometimes you have to stop telling everyone what’s not going right and talk to God about what you desire to be right in your marriage.

As honey and I prepare to celebrate 10 years in august 2016 (God-willing) I want to be who he needs me to be, which isn’t always who I want to be (jussayin). I want to be who God created me to be for him. I want us to be on the same page, I want God to speak to us through each other. I want to be better not only for him, but for me. I want God to be pleased with our marriage, so that our son can see what a healthy relationship, friendship and marriage looks like.

I know that I am not the easiest person to be married to but he does an awesome job of dealing me and everything that comes with it. Keep in mind it’s not always good but we made a commitment years ago that the D word would NOT be an option when things got, hard, crazy and downright out of control. Thankfully up until this point, God has allowed us to keep our word to each other. When all else fails, God never fails and I can say that HE has kept us when weren’t sure if we could keep each other.

I say all this to say that marriage takes work but it’s worth it. Are you willing to work at it like your life depended on it? Are you willing to say NO to some things so you can say YES to your marriage and the person you married?

Jussayin… Errbody wants to be married but no one wants to put in the work to stay married. Sometimes in addition to the question ‘why did I get married?’ you may need to also ask, ‘why should I stay married?’

I don’t know…. just thinking out loud.

Praying for marriages across our country, husbands and wives need to be covered daily. The enemy is out to steal, kill and destroy what God created between husband and wife.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

