Keep It Simple

Keep It Simple

 

 

Keep It Simple — Just because you have it doesn’t mean you have to use it.

As someone who wears many hats, one of them is the ‘professor’ hat. I am an adjunct instructor and I teach a myriad of classes. This fall I had been asked to teach one class two ways, live and online. The live class is a no brainer but the online class isn’t. It’s new to me because I’ve never taught an online class and I have to create it from scratch.

This summer has been crazy busy … In a good way. But with that said,  I didn’t give myself enough time to look for books for my class. I submitted my order to my supervisor at the end of the summer session but the books weren’t ordered until last Thursday. I didn’t get them until last Friday. Classes started Monday. YIKES!!

So I was driving myself crazy trying to figure out how I was going to make this work with the short amount of work time that I had. My plan was to review my books on Friday when I got them and work all day in the office on Saturday. However the office wasn’t going to be open on Saturday. I found this out by popping into my director’s office to ask a question last fir day while picking my books up. Good thing I did.

Allllll day Saturday I spend working on my syllabi (I’m teaching four classes) and after going through the material I was overwhelmed. The class is 6 weeks and held three times a week. Not a lot of time for what I wanted to share. So I finally come up with a schedule and I start looking at my books and to decide which material to use, I realize it’s too much. In my heart of hearts I know there is no way for me to teach all of this material.

Tired. Overwhelmed. Hungry. (yes…. when I stay up late, I get hungry)

I finally decide to go to bed.

Ever been there. Yeah well this was me this weekend.

Well both Friday night and Saturday, I prayed before starting my work because I knew I had a limited amount f time to work. Both times God said KEEP IT SIMPLE. Well I didn’t listen on Saturday. I was cramming wayyyy too much information into my course schedule which was the reason for my overwhelm.

Sidebar Coaching Moment: Have you experienced that? Overwhelm because you are trying to do too much?  And because you are overwhelmed… you just shut down by either going to sleep or eating? Not good!

Well here’s the answer.

KEEP IT SIMPLE. During my morning prayer on Sunday, here is what God spoke to me…

Keep it simple. Just because you have three books to use doesn’t mean you have to. Use the one that you can get the most out of and add to it and tweak the class material as you have time to teach it. Keep it simple. Don’t overcomplicate it. 

Is this YOU?

Are you an analyzer and an over thinker like I am?

Do you think yourself into a doing absolutely nothing? 

Well this week’s message is for you? When things gets crazy and out of control, don’t get so caught up in the moment that you forget that you have a superior God who loves you enough and knows enough about you and your situation that He can guide you along the way. Don’t be so stressed and caught up in the moment that you forget to ‘have a little talk with Jesus and tell him all about your problems.’

One of the best decisions I made this weekend was consulting with HIM before starting. I already had the answer I just got caught up in the midst of the situation and lost track of what He told me to do which was KEEP IT SIMPLE. I choose the book I could get the most out of. I started classes on Monday so I keep you all posted on how this pans out. So far so good.

Your turn: Is there something you need to simplify in your life, career or business? Identify it and then ask God to show you how to simplify it to make it less stressful for you and those around you. Be open if He changes what you had planned. Sometimes you can’t receive new because you still holding on to what you have or what you created. Let God do a new thing in you. Let Him help you keep it simple. Remember, just because you have it doesn’t mean you have to use it this time. There will be other situations and circumstances where you will be able to put it to good use.

Until next time,

Always remember, to thine own self be TRUE for out of the abundance of the HEART, the mouth SPEAKS.

Live, Love, Lead
LIVE, LOVE, & LEAD in and on purpose.
Detra
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

