Lessons learned after 7 years of Marriage…

Hey TrueheartSpeaks Family,

Yes you guessed it!!! — It’s my 7 year Wedding Anniversary.  I am elated to think back to when I first met and then married my husband how much we’ve changed and how much we’ve grown over these last 7 years of marriage.  As I was up last night, I began thinking about the lessons I’ve learning and I began to write them down. So I decided to share them with you.  For those of you hoping to get married, I hope these are a great help.  For those of you who have reached 17, 27, 47 or even 57 years of marriage, take a moment to share your own lessons learned in the comment section.  Just o you know, I could have gone on forever but I figured I’d keep the list somewhat short and let you add to it.

These are in no particular order.

So here goes…

  • Trust God
  • Trust your gut
  • Trust God over your gut
  • Pray, pray and pray some more
  • Know when to be quiet
  • Know that when things don’t always make sense to you they make sense to God
  • Know that your spouse isn’t perfect and they make mistakes.
  • Love someone who loves God
  • Trust that when it doesn’t make sense, trust that God can be your intercessor
  • Be open
  • Be flexible
  • You don’t know everything
  • It is what you make it
  • Everyone’s experience is different. Don’t get caught up in comparing or competing.
  • Know that you aren’t alone. There are others going through and there are others enjoying their marriage.  Pray for during both seasons and be thankful that it isn’t as bad as it could be.
  • The magnitude of the wedding does not compare to the magnitude of the marriage. A wedding is not a marriage.
  • If you change so do they.  The person you married then may not be the person you are married to  today.  Enjoy the evolution.
  • Don’t expect your mate to change but don’t be surprised if they do. We all go through changes. Just be ready for it and be ready to .
  • Be teachable and be willing to learn.
  • When things seem insurmountable, trust God to see you through.
  • Know what to share and who share it with.  Some things aren’t for everyone.  Some things you go through MUST stay within the confines of the marriage in order to maintain the strength of the marriage.
  • Don’t worry what others say or think.  Your marriage is just that YOUR MARRIAGE.
  • Love your spouse even when you don’t want to.
  • Be realistic about the expectations of your spouse.  Set a standard of excellence but allow room for them to fall and be there to help them up.

I hope these are a blessing to you.  Don’t forget to add your lessons in the comment section.  I can’t wait to read them!!

It’s almost time for the return of the  Motivational Minutes.  Be on the lookout for their return next month!

Also, I am launched a new program called Go Hard or Go Home – A 30 Day Jump-start E-Program.  Early Bird Pricing is $30.  It goes up on 8/25.13.  Learn more about it here: http://bit.ly/17TiLG8

Don’t forget to join me on Twitter and Facebook!

Until next time…

Choose to live life in and on purpose!

Detra

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Lessons learned after 7 years of Marriage…

  1. This is a great list! Happy Anniversary, my husband and I celebrated 9 years last week. God bless you two!

    Like

  2. karenbrown3 says:

    I am newly engaged and this has helped so much! we have been together for 7 years and have been through somethings… but I am happy to see another person sharing how to grow and enjoy your marriage.

    Like

    • You are very welcome Karen! I’m glad this post was such a blessing to you. Blessings on your engagement and your marriage. Remember it is a work in progress so always be willing to work at it to make it what you want it to be.

      Like

  3. […] 5 Lessons learned after 7 years of Marriage… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

