Opt-Out

So I was checking my email a few days ago and I received an email from a list I subscribed to while working as a fundraiser for a local college a few years back.  For whatever reason, I normally skip over or just delete these emails, but today I scrolled down and opted out so I could no longer receive anymore emails from this email list.

Why?

Because the information is no longer relevant to where I currently am in my life.  Plus the emails do nothing but take up space in my email account.  Space I could be using for something relevant and useful for what’s currently happening in my life.

What about you?

Aside from old or irrelevant emails, what people, places or things do you need to OPT OUT of?  What do you need to break away from COLD TURKEY?  By COLD TURKEY, I mean just cutting yourself off from it at a moment’s notice and without thinking about it… JUST DO IT!  By cutting things out of our lives cold turkey we limit the opportunity to second guess or question our decision.

Many times we think that the things in our life need to be bad or negative, disastrous, or forbidden for us to cut them off, but they don’t!  Everything in your life won’t be bad for you but it may not be the GREAT thing that God has for you.  It could be a good distraction and you never want GOOD to keep you from your GREAT.

In my case, the email was none of the above.  It wasn’t bad.  It was negative.  It wasn’t disastrous.  Nor was it forbidden, but  IT WAS A DISTRACTION, distracting me from those emails in my inbox that are worth reading, keeping and attending to and clogging up my email space.  I could let the email just stay in my inbox but that would be like ignoring the fact that it’s no longer relevant in my life and I no longer need it.

You know, you have certain people in your life that you need to cut off but you let them linger around so that you don’t have to ‘deal’ with them.  Or there are certain places in your life that you don’t frequent as often as you used to but you know you need to stop going.

Again, what do you need to OPT OUT of in your life and when do you plan to opt out?  My suggestion is NOW!  Don’t wait another minute!

Think about how much lighter you will feel after you let some of those people, places, and things go.

Hebrews 12:1 says ‘Let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up.  And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us’ (NLT).

When we hold on to those weights that slow us down, we are no longer able to run with endurance the race God has set before us.   We become distracted, unfocused and sometimes weighted done by things we can easily opt out of.

This year I have declared 2013 to be the year you break the mold, challenge the status quo and live life in and on purpose.  In order to do that you need to start opting out of EVERYTHING and EVERYONE that is keeping you from running your race that God has set before you.  Please know that we all have a race to run but how diligent we are in staying focused depends on our ability to opt out when something or someone is no longer relevant in our lives.

While January has come and gone, you still have 10 and 1/2 more months to live your BEST life.

How can you do that?

Decide TODAY what you need to OPT OUT of and without a second thought, DO IT!  Let them and it go and move forward with full speed ahead in the race God has set before you.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

